Commonwealth of Virginia
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400
Richmond, Virginia 23233-1485
(804) 367-8510
www.dpor.virginia.gov



#### COMMON INTEREST COMMUNITY BOARD

## PRINCIPAL OR SUPERVISORY EMPLOYEE CERTIFICATE APPLICATION INFORMATION SHEET

# ALL APPLICATIONS, FORMS, AND REGULATIONS OF THE COMMON INTEREST COMMUNITY BOARD ARE AVAILABLE ON THE WEB AT http://www.dpor.virginia.gov/Boards/CIC-Board/

All applicants must meet the current eligibility requirements at the time the completed application package is received at the Board office. Completed application packages must include all required documentation, verifications, and fees. All forms must be legible. An applicant will be notified within 30 days of the Board's receipt of an initial application if the application is incomplete. Incomplete applications will only be kept in the Board office for 12 months from the date of receipt by the Board. Applicants that fail to complete the process within 12 months of receipt of the application in the Board's office must submit a new application and fee along with all required documentation. (18 VAC 48-50-20)

Effective July 1, 2012, all employees of licensed common interest community managers (firms) with principal responsibility for management services or who have supervisory responsibility for employees who provide management services must hold a certificate issued by the Board. Principal or supervisory employees must obtain certification as a certified principal or supervisory employee within two years after employment with a common interest community manager. A principal or supervisory employee under the direct supervision of a certified principal or supervisory employee is not required to obtain a certificate as a certified principal or supervisory employee from the Board. (§ 54.1-2346(C) of the *Code of Virginia*)

# **BOARD REGULATIONS AND STATUTES**

Applicants for certification are required to read and understand the Common Interest Community Manager Regulations (effective November 1, 2019) and Chapter 23.3 of Title 54.1 of the *Code of Virginia* prior to applying for certification.

# **FEES**

Each application must be accompanied by the application fee of \$75. (18 VAC 48-50-60)

## **QUESTION 1**

No further explanation necessary.

# **QUESTION 2**

The social security number or control number issued by the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles must be provided on the application. State law requires that every applicant for a license, certificate, registration or other authorization to engage in a business, trade, profession, or occupation issued by the Commonwealth to provide a social security number or a control number issued by the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles. (§ 54.1-116.A of the *Code of Virginia*)

#### **QUESTION 3**

All applicants for certification must be at least 18 years of age. (18 VAC 48-50-35.B)

## **QUESTIONS 4 AND 5**

Please provide the applicant's street and mailing address. A post office box cannot be listed for the street address but is acceptable for the mailing address. All correspondence from the Board will be mailed to the address provided. (18 VAC 48-50-35.D)

#### **QUESTION 6**

Provide the e-mail address, if applicable, for the applicant.

### **QUESTION 7**

No further explanation necessary.

## **QUESTION 8**

Applicants for certification must have a high school diploma or equivalent. (18 VAC 48-50-35.C)

# **QUESTION 9**

Applicants for certification must provide the name of his or her employing common interest community manager (or managers if employed by more than one firm), if applicable. (18 VAC 48-50-35.J)

## **QUESTION 10**

Select the method by which the applicant qualifies for certification. Each method is followed by additional instructions as to specific documentation that must be submitted with the application. An applicant that qualifies under more than one method only needs to select one method and submit the relevant documentation for the method selected. If option five (v.) is selected, the applicant must obtain and submit an original certification or letter of good standing from another state, territory, or jurisdiction in which the applicant currently holds a license, certificate, or registration that is similar to or the same as a certified principal or supervisory employee. In addition, the requirements for issuance of such license, certification, or registration must be substantially equivalent to the Board's requirements for a certified principal or supervisory employee. The certification/letter of good standing must include the type of license, certificate, or registration held; current status; any disciplinary actions; how and when the license, certificate, or registration was issued; and original signature and seal from the state/jurisdiction. (18 VAC 48-50-35.I; 18 VAC 48-50-37.B)

# **QUESTIONS 11, 12, AND 13**

This information must be provided for the applicant. An explanation and supporting documentation as described for each question must be provided for all affirmative answers. (18 VAC 48-50-35.E, G, and H)

## **QUESTION 14**

The individual should thoroughly read, understand, and verify the accuracy of the information provided on the application and the attestations in Question 14 prior to signing the application.

# REQUIRED DOCUMENTATION

- > Copy of documentation showing evidence of current active designation as a PCAM, AMS, CMCA, if applicable.
- Copy of documentation showing that the applicant has successfully completed an introductory or comprehensive training program approved by the Board, if applicable.
- > Original certification/letter of good standing from another state, territory, or jurisdiction in which the applicant is currently licensed, certified, or registered, if applicable.
- Completed Certified Principal or Supervisory Employee Experience Verification Form(s) documenting the applicant's management services experience, if applicable.
- > Copy of documentation for affirmative responses to questions 11, 12, and 13 on this application.