Salon, Shop, Spa & Parlor Application Detailed Instructions

Contents

Sı	Jbmission Requirements	2
	Do You Have To Apply For A License	
	When and Where Should You File	
	What Documents Must Be Included	2
Α	pplication Instructions	
	License Type	3
	Question 1 – Are you currently licensed?	3
	Question 2 – Salon, Shop, Spa or Parlor Business Entity/Sole Proprietor Name	3
	Question 3 – Trade, "Doing Business As (DBA), or Fictitious Name of Salon, Shop, Spa or Parlor	
	Question 4 – Type of Business Entity	4
	Question 5 – FEIN, Social Security Number, or DMV Control Number	4
	Question 6 – Mailing Address	4
	Question 7 – Street Address	4
	Question 8 – Contact Numbers	4
	Question 9 – Email Address	4
	Question 10 – Responsible Management	5
	Question 11 – Disclose Prior Disciplinary Action	5
	Question 12 – Disclose Prior License Denial	5
	Question 13 – Disclose Felony and Misdemeanor Convictions	5
	Question 14 – Disclose Prior License Denial	5
	Question 15 – Disclose Felony and Misdemeanor Convictions	5
	Question 16 – Certifying Statements and Signature	6

Submission Requirements

Do You Have To Apply For A License

The Code of Virginia requires that any individual or entity operating a barbershop, cosmetology salon, nail care salon, waxing salon, tattoo parlor, body-piercing salon, or esthetics spa must be licensed. If you are offering cosmetology, barbering, nail care, waxing, tattooing, body-piercing, or ethetics services, you are required to have a salon, shop, spa, or parlor license and every individual practicing must have a practitioner license, respectively.

When and Where Should You File

The application review process can take up to 45 days. The review process may take longer if the Board determines after initial review that the application is incomplete.

Applications should be submitted to the Board at:

Board for Barbers and Cosmetology 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400 Richmond, Virginia 23233

What Documents Must Be Included

In order to have a complete application, you must submit the following items:

- A completed salon, shop, spa & parlor License Application,
- The appropriate license fee as indicated on the application, and
- Supporting documentation identified by relevant questions on the application

Be sure the application submitted is the current version of the salon, shop, spa & parlor License Application. The current application can be downloaded from the Board's website at http://www.dpor.virginia.gov/Boards/BarberCosmo/, under Forms and Applications.

Any questions regarding the application or supporting documentation can be sent to bchoplicensing@dpor.virginia.gov, or you may speak with a Licensing Specialist at (804) 367-8509.

Instructions for the Salon, Shop, Spa & Parlor Application

License Type

Mark the box of the type of license you are seeking: Barber Shop, Cosmetology Salon, Nail Salon, Waxing Salon, Tattoo Parlor, Permanent Cosmetic Tattoo Salon, Body Piercing Salon, Body Piercing Ear Only Salon, Esthetics Spa.

Question 1 – Are you currently or were you previously licensed?

If you are opening a new salon, shop, spa or parlor, and do not currently hold or have not previously held a salon, shop, spa, or parlor license you may leave this question blank, it is not applicable.

If you currently or previously held a salon, shop, spa or parlor license and need to reinstate your license, please provide your Virginia License Number and Expiration Date. PLEASE NOTE: If your license expired more than 2 years ago, YOU CAN NOT REINSTATE your license. Instead, you must re-apply as a new (Initial) applicant.

Question 2 – Business Entity/Sole Proprietor Name

This question is asking for the name of the legal business entity which will operate the salon, shop, spa or parlor. This will depend on your legal entity type.

- If you are opening a salon, shop, spa or parlor under a **Sole Proprietorship**, please fill in your full name (first, middle, and last name).
- If you are opening a salon, shop, spa or parlor under a **General Partnership**, please fill in the names of the partners.
- If you are opening a salon, shop, spa or parlor under a Corporation, Limited Liability Company, or Limited Partnership, please fill in the name of the Business entity with the appropriate organization (Inc., LLC, LP). This name must be registered with the Virginia State Corporation Commission (SCC).
- If you are opening a different business type than listed, indicate the type of entity registered with the SCC.

Question 3 – Trade, "Doing Business As" (DBA), or Fictitious Name of Salon, Shop, Spa & Parlor

This question is asking for the name you wish to operate under, if different from your legal entity name. For example, a fictitious name could have "Parlor", "Salon", "Spa", etc.

- If opening the salon, shop, spa or parlor under a **Sole Proprietorship or General Partnership**, you must submit a copy of the Certificate of Fictitious name filed with the Clerk of the Court in the locality where business will be conducted.
- If opening the salon, shop, spa or parlor under a **Corporation, Limited Liability Company, or Limited Partnership**, your business/trade name must be registered with the Virginia State Corporation Commission (SCC). The State Corporation can be contacted at (804) 371-9733.

Please keep in mind that if you are a **Corporation or Limited Liability Company**, state law requires that your legal name indicate so. If you intend to operate without that designation, you must obtain a fictitious name from the SCC. For example, if a shop is registered with the SCC as "Donald's Barber Shop, Inc.", it must obtain a fictitious name from the SCC if it wishes to operate without the "Inc." in its name. So, in order to operate as "Donald's Barber Shop", Donald's Barber Shop, Inc. must have the fictitious name "Donald's Barber Shop" registered with the SCC. Applications that do not meet this requirement cannot be processed.

Question 4 – Type of Business Entity

Please select **ONE** type of business entity. If the business is registered with the SCC, please provide the State Corporation Commission Number in Question 4.B. Your business entity selection must match the information you provided in Question 2, and must match the type registered with the clerk of court or SCC.

Question 5 – FEIN, Social Security Number, or DMV Control Number

If the salon, shop, spa or parlor is opening under a **general partnership**, **corporation**, **limited liability company**, **or limited partnership**, provide a Business Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN). This number can be obtained from the Internal Revenue Service (IRS), and can be obtained online on the IRS website. A social security number will not be accepted for these types of entities.

If the salon, shop, spa or parlor is opening under a **Sole Proprietorship**, provide Sole Proprietor's social security number or Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles Control Number (VA Driver's License or Identification card number).

Question 6 – Mailing Address

Provide a mailing address. This is where all Board correspondence, including the license, will be mailed. P.O. Boxes are accepted. This address will be the address printed on the license.

If street address is the same as the mailing address, check box next to "Check here if Street Address is the same as the Mailing Address listed above." Do **not** check this box if you provided a P.O. Box.

Question 7 – Street Address

If street address is different from mailing address, provide a street address. You must provide the actual physical location of the school for this question. If a P.O. Box was provided as the mailing address, a physical (street) address must be provided.

Question 8 – Contact Numbers

Provide a primary telephone number that you can be reached. You may also provide an alternate telephone number and fax number if you wish to do so.

Question 9 – Email Address

Provide a valid email address that can be used for contact purposes and could become available to third parties if requested.

Question 10 – Responsible Management

Provide Name (first, middle, last), Title, Address, Birthdate, and Social Security Number or VA DMV Control Number information for each member of Responsible Management. Responsible Management are the individuals who are responsible for the operations of your salon, shop, spa or parlor. The regulations identify Responsible Management for different types of entities:

- 1. The sole proprietor of a sole proprietorship;
- 2. The partners of a general partnership;
- 3. The managing partners of a limited partnership;
- 4. The officers of a corporation;
- 5. The managers of a limited liability company;
- 6. The officers or directors of an association or both; and
- 7. Individuals in other business entities recognized under the laws of the Commonwealth as having a fiduciary responsibility to the firm.

Question 11 – Disclose Prior Disciplinary Action

Indicate if disciplinary action has ever been taken against the salon, shop, spa or parlor or any responsible management in any local, state, or national regulatory board (including Virginia.) This would include any disciplinary action taken against a professional license by any regulatory board or agency. Complete the Disciplinary Action Reporting form and provide a certified copy of the final order, decree or case decision by a court or regulatory agency who issued the order, decree, or case decision.

Question 12 – Disclose Prior License Denial

If the salon, shop, spa or parlor and any responsible management **have had** an application, certification, or registration as a practitioner or instructor in the fields of barbering, cosmetology, waxing, nail care, esthetics, body-piercing, or tattooing <u>denied</u> by **ANY** local, state, or national regulatory board, check yes and provide that required documentation. Complete the Denial of Licensure Reporting Form and provide a certified copy of the final order, decree or case decision by a court or regulatory agency who issued the order, decree, or case decision.

Question 13 – Disclose Felony and Misdemeanor Convictions

Mark "No" if the salon, shop, spa or parlor and any responsible management **have not** been convicted of a felony within the last 20 years, or a misdemeanor conviction in the last two years.

If the salon, shop, spa or parlor or any responsible management **have ever been** convicted of a felony within the last 20 years, or a misdemeanor conviction in the last two years, or have pleaded guilty or nolo contendere, mark "Yes", complete the Criminal Conviction Reporting form and attach an original State Police criminal history record from the state(s) where convicted. You must provide an original official criminal history record from each state in which there are convictions.

A conviction is not an automatic bar to licensure. Certain convictions may require Board review through the Informal Fact-Finding process. You can find out more about this process on the Board's website at www.dpor.virginia.gov.

Question 14 – Certifying Statements and Signature

Each member of responsible management must sign attesting to the certifying statements. Every member of responsible management listed on Question 10 must sign in this section.