Commonwealth of Virginia Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400 Richmond, Virginia 23233-1485 (804) 367-8509 www.dpor.virginia.gov



## Virginia Board for Barbers and Cosmetology LICENSE BY ENDORSEMENT APPLICATION

A check or money order payable to the TREASURER OF VIRGINIA, or a completed credit card insert must be mailed with your application package.

## APPLICATION FEES ARE NOT REFUNDABLE.

- If you do not hold a current license/certificate in another state or jurisdiction, this application cannot be processed.
- A Certification of Licensure (dated within the last 60 days) is required to obtain licensure.

TRANS CODE

1021

ENTITY#

## Select one license type you are requesting:

				OCI		ile ileei	130 1	ypc	, y c	o ui	CICY	ucsi	mg.												
				Practitioner Lice	nse T	уре								Insti	ruc	tor	Ту	ре							
		Х	Trans	Fee \$105	.00			Χ	Tra	ans				Fe	e (	312	5.0	0							
			1021	1301- Barber License					50	21	1301-	Barbe	er add	ding	Ins	struc	cto	r Ce	rtific	cat	е				
	☐ 1026 1301- Master Barber License							50	26	1301-	Mast	er Ba	rber	ad	ding	Ins	stru	ctor	Co	ertific	cate				
	☐ 1021 1201- Cosmetology License								10	21	1204-	Cosn	netolo	gy l	nst	ruc	tor	Cer	tifica	ate	*				
	☐ 1021 1206- Nail Technician License							10	21	1207-	Nail 7	Techr	niciar	n Ir	nstri	ucto	or C	erti	fica	ate					
			1021	1214- Wax Technician Li	cense	)			10	21	1215-	Wax	Tech	nicia	ın I	nstr	uct	tor (	Cert	ific	ate				
			1021	1231- Tattooer License																					
			1021	1236- Permanent Cosme	tic Ta	ttooer Li	c.																		
☐ 1021 1237- Master Perm. Cosmetic Tattooer Lic.																									
			1021	1241- Body Piercer Licer	se																				
			1021	1261- Esthetician License	Э																				
			1021	1264- Master Esthetician	Licer	nse																			
1.	An individual holding a <b>Cosmetology Instructor Certificate</b> may teach a <u>nail technician</u> and <u>wax technician</u> program without obtaining a separate Nail Technician Instructor or Wax Technician Instructor Certificate.  1. Are you applying for an <u>Instructor</u> certificate or have you been <u>previously</u> licensed in Virginia as a barber, master barber, cosmetologist, nail technician, wax technician, body piercer, esthetician, master esthetician, tattooer, permanent cosmetic tattooer, or master permanent cosmetic tattooer?  No  Yes  If yes, provide your Virginia license number and expiration date:  VA License Number  Expiration Date																								
2.	2. Full Legal Name (As it appears on your government issued ID or other legal documentation.)  Last (required) First (required) Middle Generation																								
3.	Pr	ovid	e at le	ast one of the following	ident	tification	num	ber	s*:																
Social Security Number and/or																									
<u>Virginia</u> DMV Control Number							Ļ						L	1					]						
<ul> <li>Enter the same identification number as used on examination, previous applications or licenses on file with the department.</li> <li>* State law requires every applicant for a license, certificate, registration or other authorization to engage in a business, trade, profession or occupation</li> </ul>																									
	*			mmonwealth to provide a social s																		r occ	upat	on is	suea
4.	Da	ite o	f Birth																						
				MM/DD/YYYY	٠																				
5.	Ma	aider	n or Fo	ormer Name(s)																					

DATE

FEE

2.

5.

OFFICE USE

ONLY

ISSUE DATE

FILE #/LICENSE #

6.	Mailing Address (PO  The mailing addres  printed on the lie	ss will be	City		State	Zip Code					
7.	Street Address (PO B	. ,		e if Street Address is the <u>same</u> as the Mailir		•					
			City		State	Zip Code					
8.	Contact Numbers	Primary Teleph	·	Alternate Telephone	Fax						
9.	Email Address										
		Email address is considered a public record and will be disclosed upon request from a third party.									
10.	master esthetician, ta or registration <b>issued</b>	ittooer, permanent colby any state or ter	osmetic tattooe ritory of the Ur	gist, nail technician, wax techni r, or master permanent cosmet nited States (excluding Virginia . Complete the Exam & Licens	ic tattooer licens )?						
	Yes 🗌 If yes, o	complete the following	ng questions:								
		e following state/juris and <u>expired</u> profess		license, certification or registrated above.)	ition has been is	ssued: (List al					
	Professional Type	State/Juriso	diction	License, Certification or Registration Number	Expira	ation Date					
	listed ir Yes No ◆ Certific license obtain	If <u>no</u> , provide each state/jucations of Licensure/Lette/certification/registration ing licensure (i.e. exam, indisciplinary actions results)	e an original Corisdiction where er of Good Standinumber; 2) the initreciprocity, etc.) an atting in a violation of	ertification of Licensure (dated you are <u>not</u> in good standing. ng; prepared by the state board or ritial date of licensure; 3) the expiration of the minimum requirement that were or undetermined finding. Certification may, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Rich	regulatory body mundate of the license met to qualify for license to the license must be mailed direct	60 days) from st include: 1) the e 4) the means or rensure; and 5) all thy to:					
11.	wax technician, bod permanent cosmetic to the No If no, you are If yes,	y piercer, estheticia cattooer for the states ou <b>do not qualify</b> by provide a <i>Certifica</i> t	an, master est s/jurisdictions lis r Endorsement. tion of Licensul	come a barber, master barber, hetician, tattooer, permanent sted in question 10.A?  Complete the Exam and Licens re/Letter of Good Standing (doody where you successfully passes)	cosmetic tattoo se Application. lated within the	er, or master					
	registration number; 2) reciprocity, etc.) and the	the initial date of licens	sure; 3) the expira	ne state board or regulatory body must tion date of the license 4) the mean lify for licensure; and 5) all closed disc	ns of obtaining lice	nsure (i.e. exam					

Board for Barbers and Cosmetology, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233-1485

<u>-</u> .	,		, ,		nent cosmetic tattooer?
	No	ı, oı ı □	-		d to the next question.
	Yes		If yes, h	nave	you successfully completed a <i>training program or an apprenticeship program</i> in any diction of the United States?
			No		If no, you do not qualify by Endorsement. Complete the Exam and License Application.
			Yes		If yes, provide the following information <b>and</b> provide a Certification of Licensure/Letter of Good Standing (dated within the last 60 days) prepared by the state board or regulatory body where the training/program was completed**:  Select the one license type you are requesting:
					<b>→</b>
					Body Piercer -Total number of apprenticeship hours completed :
					If the apprenticeship program was <i>less than 1200 hours</i> , you <b>do not qualify</b> by endorsement. Complete the <i>Exam and License Application</i> .
					☐ Esthetician/Master Esthetician -Total number of training hours completed :
					If the training was less than 480 hours, you do not qualify by endorsement. Complete the <b>Exam</b> and License Application.
					☐ Tattooer/Permanent Cosmetic Tattooer -Total number of training hours completed :
					If the training was less than 1200 hours, you do not qualify by endorsement. Complete the <b>Exam</b> and License Application.
					Master Permanent Cosmetic Tattooer -Total number of training hours completed:
					If the training was less than 72 hours (onsite training only), you do not qualify by endorsement. Complete the <i>Exam and License Application</i> .

- \*\* If the state/jurisdiction **does not verify total hours** for training, the Board will require a transcript from the training provider/training program.
- Certifications of Licensure/Letter of Good Standing; prepared by the state board or regulatory body must include: 1) the license/certification/ registration number; 2) the initial date of licensure; 3) the expiration date of the license 4) the means of obtaining licensure (i.e. exam, reciprocity, etc.) and the minimum requirement that were met to qualify for licensure; and 5) all closed disciplinary actions resulting in a violation or undetermined finding. Certification must be mailed directly to:

Board for Barbers and Cosmetology, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233-1485

13.		ying to become a barber, master barber, cosmetologist, nail technician, or wax technician?
	No	If no, proceed to the next question.
	Yes	If yes, have you successfully completed a <i>training program</i> in any state or jurisdiction of the United States?
		No If no, you <b>do not qualify</b> by Endorsement. Complete the Exam and License Application.
		Yes If yes, provide a Certification of Licensure/Letter of Good Standing (dated within the last 60 days) prepared by the state board or regulatory body where the training was completed** and provide the following:  Select the one license type you are requesting:
		○ Barbers -Total number of training hours completed :
		If the training was less than 880 hours, you will need to show 5 years of experience to qualify by endorsement. Complete the <i>Training Substitution Form</i> .
		★ If the training was less than 1200 hours, you will need to show 5 years of experience to qualify by endorsement. Complete the <u>Training Substitution Form.</u>
		Cosmetologist -Total number of training hours completed:
		★ If the training was less than 1200 hours, you will need to show 5 years of experience to qualify by endorsement. Complete the <u>Training Substitution Form.</u>
		Nail Technician -Total number of training hours completed ★:
		→ If the training was less than 120 hours, you will need to show 5 years of experience to qualify by endorsement. Complete the <u>Training Substitution Form</u> .
		○ Wax Technician -Total number of training hours completed :
		→ If the training was less than 120 hours, you will need to show 5 years of experience to qualify by endorsement. Complete the <u>Training Substitution Form</u> .
	the state/jurisdic rogram.	tion does not verify total hours for training, the Board will require a transcript from the training provider/training
C re	ertifications of Licegistration number; c.) and the mining	ensure/Letter of Good Standing; prepared by the state board or regulatory body must include: 1) the license/certification/2) the initial date of licensure; 3) the expiration date of the license 4) the means of obtaining licensure (i.e. exam, reciprocity, num requirement that were met to qualify for licensure; and 5) all closed disciplinary actions resulting in a violation or g. Certification must be mailed directly to:
4.4		Board for Barbers and Cosmetology, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233-1485
14.	body? This license in cor	er been subject to a <b>disciplinary action</b> taken by <u>any</u> (including Virginia) local, state or national regulatory ncludes but is not limited to any monetary penalties, fines, suspensions, revocations, surrender of a nection with a disciplinary action or voluntary termination of a license.
	Yes	If yes, complete the <u>Disciplinary Action Reporting Form</u> .
15.	barbering, co	er had an application for licensure, certification or registration as a practitioner or instructor in the fields of osmetology, waxing, nail care, esthetics, body-piercing, or tattooing <b>denied</b> by any (including Virginia) r national regulatory body?  If yes, complete the <b>Denial of Licensure Reporting Form</b> .
16.	•	ou ever been convicted or found guilty, regardless of the manner of adjudication, in any jurisdiction of the States of any <b>felony</b> within the last 20 years?   If yes, complete the Criminal Conviction Reporting Form.

B. Have you been convicted or found guilty, regardless of the manner of adjudication, United States of any
--

17.